Wild Spinach Pesto

This one is a winner at all my lunches!! I LOVE wild food. Not only is it fun to gather, free and bursting with flavour but it also is in its original state, full of minerals and vitamins. I am lucky enough to live in the Swiss mountains and there is a batch of wild spinach on my morning walk. It is the first time I tried this very easy pesto recipe with wild spinach and it turned out fabulous!

I eat it as a spread on toasted bread, as a side with a hearty salad or very traditionally with hot pasta.


Ingredients:

You have to be creative with this one. I can tell you the ingredients but I never ever measured them exactly – and I encourage you to do the same!

Simply adjust to your taste:

A handful Spinach leaves (I used wild ones, which have a very strong taste. You can use arugula (rucola leaves) instead of spinach leaves.)

1/2 lemon, juiced

A lot of olive oil

Nori leaves (or any other algae)

1/2 banana

1/2 tsp salt

A pinch of pepper

Mix everything together in a high speed blender and blend very shortly. You just want all the leaves to be broken up but don’t want to proceed until you have a mayonnaise! 🙂

Leave a Reply

