Carrot-Ginger-Orange Juice

I am not a big fan of jucing in winter – simply because it weakens our kidney qi, which already has a hard time in winter with most of our digestive fire on very low flame… Yet I felt I needed an energy boost and stomach soother at the same time – so chocolate was out of the question. Ginger is the ultimate root in winter to stay warm and to sooth the stomach. Carrots are a staple and oranges “in season” (from Spain)… Here comes the recipe.

Note: the vitamin K in carrots is only fat soluble – hence I added a good gulp of organic lineseed oil to my juice.

What you need: a juicer.

Recipe

  • 4 carrots, washed, cut off the ends (organic carrots – no need to peel them!)
  • 1 orange, peeled
  • 1 cup of cold spring water
  • a big piece of ginger (I used one the size of my thumb), peeled
  • one gulp of your favourite virgin oil (lineseed, hemp and any nut oils are a good choice as the taste adds to theflavour of the  juice)

Juice and enjoy.


Look at that colour!!


P.S: I juced the carrots first and gave the carrot fibre to my dog (mixed with rice). The rest of the fibre from that juice went into the compost (and next year on our garden… 😍 )

Leave a Reply

